{ We say Merry Christmas! Share your Christmas traditions in the comments section! }

MORMON LIVING NATIVITY by EOS Boy. Kinney Edlinger, left, portrays Mary and husband Michael Edlinger plays Joseph in a retelling of the Christmas story at the LDS Temple in Oakland, Calif., Sunday, Dec. 16, 2007. (D. Ross Cameron/The Oakland Tribune)

MORMON LIVING NATIVITY. Kinney Edlinger, left, portrays Mary and husband Michael Edlinger plays Joseph in a retelling of the Christmas story at the LDS Temple in Oakland, Calif., Sunday, Dec. 16, 2007. (D. Ross Cameron/The Oakland Tribune)

**Scroll down for the latest traditional marriage posts, but I thought it would be fun to keep this as a sticky post until after Christmas! **

Merry Christmas Everyone!!! There has been a lot of drama this year surrounding the celebration of Christmas. The real reason for Christmas is to celebrate the birth of our Savior. Sadly many people have a problem with that. While I work on new posts about the latest fight for traditional marriage, I thought it would be fun to share our families’ Christmas traditions. This is a blog about marriage and families, and special traditions are things that help bind families together, so share away. It’s nice to focus on positive and happy things in this blog too.

So, post up your Christmas traditions in the comments section and read to see what traditions other people cherish.

Here are a few Christmas Traditions that belong to me and my family:

1. Every year since my siblings and I were born, we have selected a new ornament for the Christmas tree. Sometimes they are just fun and cool ornaments we see, but most of the time we select ornaments to commemorate something important from the year. I have ballet slippers from when I was a dancer, a picture frame with a picture of Joe McIntyre from when I was convinced I would marry my favorite New Kid o the Block, I have an ornament from the Statue of Liberty from my first trip to New York City to see Miss Liberty and a cactus from the year I lived in Arizona after college, just to name a few. The idea being that when my siblings and I got married, we would have this entire box of ornaments and memories from our entire lives to take with us to our married homes and our own Christmas trees.

My siblings and I love this tradition, we have a blast every year discussing which ornaments we’re getting. This year my sister scoured the internet to find ornaments from the family vacation in Maine. I have looked for a Prop 8 ornament, and I’m sad to report that I only found “No on 8” ornaments, but working on the Yes campaign was a huge part of our year, and I would like to find and ornament for those memories. I’m still searching for at least a number 8, so I’ll see what I can find. We all have so much fun unpacking our ornaments each year and talking about the memories.

2. When we decorate the tree, which is usually the Saturday after Thanksgiving, my Mom throws us a little decorating party. She makes snacks, plays Christmas music and we decorate the house too. A few years ago my Mom bought us all those huge ornament storage boxes that they had a Costco. Well, for the last 4 or 5 years, we have started writing on the bottom side of the lids of each other boxes with funny memories about boyfriends, funny quotes, stuff going on. This year was especially funny when we read the top of my sister’s box, whereon it mentions the crush she had on this boy…well turns out the boy was here this year, and is dating my other sister….Sister 1 and said boy were just friends before he started dating sister 2. A lot of our Christmas ornament box commentary is teasing and jokes, so it was pretty funny.

3.  Every Christmas Eve my Mom throws a dinner for our family and friends. And most importantly, after dinner we gather around the piano and my Dad reads the story of Christ’s birth from Luke 2 in the Bible. We sing Christmas hymns mixed in with the scripture reading, and reflect on the birth of our Savior.

4. When we all grew up and had the Santa thing figured out, my siblings and I started filling stocking for my parents and my Aunt. My parents to-this-day still fill stockings for us, and now we have a great time filling stockings for them too.

These are a few of our big traditions. Ones that I will definitely carry on to my family and my children. Fortunately I have never had to spend a Christmas without my parents and all 4 of my siblings together. I’m the only one married so far, so my siblings and I still get to be together at Mom and Dad’s just like when we were little. But when the time comes that every one is spending Christmas with their in-laws…I will still have my favorite Christmas memories and traditions to help me celebrate!

Share your own family traditions in the comments section below! Thanks for reading. Have a Merry Christmas!

~Journalista Chronicle

3 thoughts on “{ We say Merry Christmas! Share your Christmas traditions in the comments section! }

  1. We also have a new ornament each year, and I really enjoy that tradition.

    For this year, I used one of the Prop 8 buttons. I just threaded some string through the pin part and hung it on! It twists too much, though, so I think I’m going to hot-glue some nice ribbon on the back and call it good.

Leave a Reply

