{ California couples hope ads spur gay marriage support }

What do you wanto see here?

What do you want to see here?

“Our family may look different from yours, but we’re not.”

So will say gay couples as they parade their version of ‘families’ across your TV screen prior to the inauguration. We have the gay-owned film studio ‘Power Up’ to thank for the production of said ads, however they are still in the works.

Won’t we all want to be glued to our TVs now? Not only do we have to stomach Obama’s mantra’s, but in the days leading up to his January 20th inauguration, we will have the distinct pleasure of seeing gay right’s activists finally put a face to their name, i.e. cause, in five television spots in support of gay-marriage. I wonder who the lucky families will be? And I mean families in the loosest sense of the word.

As reported today by none other then the Silcon Valley’s own Mercury News,

They’ll target counties where high numbers voted for Proposition 8, the Nov. 4 ballot initiative that stripped gay couples of the right to wed in California.

Keep your guard up out there! Just because the election is over, we need to remember that the dissenting voices have not gone away. We need to keep the reasons why we support traditional marriage in the forefront of our minds, so we can retrieve the info whenever an opportunity arises where we can explain things to a confused friend, i.e. fence-sitter, or as my Dad calls them, “sheeple,” as in people who follow blindly like sheep with out making decisions for themselves. These days in our family we seem to apply the “sheeple” term to people in all sorts of political and social arenas.

It’s time to think hard about where we will stand, what we will stand for, who we will stand next to through the present and future political and social turmoil. Once you’ve made a decision about where that will be, then don’t be passive and complacent, get up, stand, up, work hard and try to make a difference. (And I hope when you are doing all of this standing and working, that you are on the side of protecting traditional marriage, children and families!) 🙂

The group says the idea for the ads came after several gay and lesbian parents realized their personal stories had influenced acquaintances to vote against Proposition 8..

If they are claiming peer pressure, or an influential position in the lives of their friends and family, then so can we. People who care about us, also care to know what we believe in and why. If you can’t explain why, then google up info or read traditional family blog archives (hopefully mine, and my friends’) until you get a reasoned explanation worked out; one that you can vocalize and share with people.

The various reasons people have for voting one way or another are interesting, and usually private, but let me share one recent experience. I was at a YES on 8 sign-holding party with my parents and some people from Church, in the rain the night before the election. We were on the corner of a crazy busy street and this nice guy came along on his bike. He had to stop and wait for the traffic signal to change so I asked him if he was “going to vote yes on Prop 8?” He kind of looked at me funny, then said, “I already voted.” That’s all fine and dandy right? But then I asked, “did you vote yes on prop 8?” Short story shorter, the dude couldn’t remember how he had voted on Proposition 8. Seriously buddy???? I think I said something like, “I hope you voted yes!” Then the conversation turned to my Dad and me talking about how people that like, who “don’t know beans about the issues,” shouldn’t be voting. (The fact that he barely spoke English is a topic for a completely different day and blog. We’re not prejudice here at the Journalista Chronicle, I’ve taken numerous Spanish classes in my day and dated men of various races before I married at 31, (another blog topic), but shouldn’t people have to be “up on things” before they can vote? In all honesty, I would rather have convicts voting then uninformed non-convicts. At least prisoners have plenty of time to read, research the law and keep themselves informed).

So back to the topic…you just never know why people voted the way they did; in fact they might not even know why or how they voted. That’s hard for me to get my head around, but hey, those people are out there. If you can have a positive influence on people who don’t have a clue or think they might not care about traditional marriage, be prepared to start talking about all of the education, psychological, marriage, health, religious, family and other issues that need to be addressed, defended and talked about. Our positive and truthful influence counts too! Don’t let the same-sex marriage activists have a louder voice then ours.

Source: Mercury News

7 thoughts on “{ California couples hope ads spur gay marriage support }

  1. I like what you said here

    “my Dad calls them, “sheeple,” as in people who follow blindly like sheep with out making decisions for themselves.”

    This is what happens to you when you sit in front of the television day in day out not thinking about what you hear and just take it all in.

    I think blogs are growing momentum and fighting back against the polically correct secular media.

  2. I totally agree. It’s nice that people actually have somewhere to go to find information that doesn’t just cater to the left, gay right’s activist and feminist agendas. My family is funny like that. We have all sorts of little words for things….mostly from my Dad. He’s a riot and super smart. I definitely owe my conservative political side to my parents. They actually taught me right from wrong for which I am grateful.

  3. It shocked a lot of callers working for Prop 8 to call someone a week before the election and have him/her not know what Prop 8 was even about. I know that those against Prop 8 have said that if people really understood the issue, more would have voted “no”. But sometimes I think that Prop 8 should have won by a lot more votes than it did.

  4. Thanks for the info. I’m glad you are keeping up to date about the gay activist’s use of media, because that was their biggest weapon during Prop 8. Some of those commercials made me laugh so hard! (Like when they compared not having gay marriage to the Japanese internment camps) Sorry, it was completely different. No one is putting gays in jail for their sexual orientation.

  5. GLSEN has a late night ad full of teen celebrities saying how uncool it is to use the phrase “that’s so gay.” I just about fell out of my chair craning my neck to see it. And then I wanted to throw myself on the floor so I could use my new favorite acronym ROFLMRO (Rolling On The Floor Laughing My Rear Off). Seriously? Are they seriously claiming some right to the word gay and it’s definition? Last time I checked it still meant happy. Who knows though, seems like lots of words are being redefined these days.

    Thanks Journalista. This was great.

  6. Pearl – I saw that ad. I was also ROFLMRO! I was watching Jay Leno the other night and he made a crack about the guitar player being gay, then quickly said “not that there’s anything wrong with being gay”… You could totally tell Jay Leno was trying to be politically correct, but he did a bad job at faking it. Back to the commercial, I have a problem with that because my brother, a senior in high school, was called a homophobe because he was Mormon. Now why if he had called that girl a lesbian, he would have been kicked out of school. But she can call him a homophobe and refuse to shake his hand after a work out, but he can’t say anything to the contrary. It’s just wrong.

  7. Thanks for sharing Heather. You’re totally right. How did your brother handle the situation? Is he ok? I’m sure he’s strong and has knowledge of the bigger picture. Thankfully so many of us do. This gay-marriage-pro-homosexuality issue is so biased, slanted and one-sided and anything else that explains how hypocritical the other side is. I am still confused as to why people, in this case the school administration, can’t enforce a blanket policy of no-name calling…period. It’s ridiculous that some of these kids can say anything they want, as long as they don’t harass the gays. It’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

