Jody McLoud and his football speech…

This is all over the web.  I wanted to share it with my readers…

08.28- Post Edit: I got an email from my friend Pearl who told me that the gentleman’s name who gave the speech is Jody McLoud. He’s a real principal and really gave this speech! Check out the source here... Thanks Pearl!!

Photo Source: nytimes.com

Photo Source: nytimes.com

The Hypocritical US Supreme Court
Author unknown

This is a statement that was read over the PA system at the football game at Roane County High School, Kingston, Tennessee, by school Principal, Jody McLeod.

“It has always been the custom at Roane County High School football games, to say a prayer and play the National Anthem, to honor God and Country.”

Due to a recent ruling by the Supreme Court, I am told that saying a Prayer is a violation of Federal Case Law. As I understand the law at this time, I can use this public facility to approve of sexual perversion and call it “an alternate lifestyle,” and if someone is offended, that’s OK.

I can use it to condone sexual promiscuity, by dispensing condoms and calling it, “safe sex.” If someone is offended, that’s OK.

I can even use this public facility to present the merits of killing an unborn baby as a “viable means of birth control.” If someone is offended, no problem…

I can designate a school day as “Earth Day” and involve students in activities to worship religiously and praise the goddess “Mother Earth” and call it “ecology.”

I can use literature, videos and presentations in the classroom that depicts people with strong, traditional Christian convictions as “simple minded” and “ignorant” and call it “enlightenment.”

However, if anyone uses this facility to honor GOD and to ask HIM to Bless this event with safety and good sportsmanship, then Federal Case Law is violated.

This appears to be inconsistent at best, and at worst, diabolical. Apparently, we are to be tolerant of everything and anyone, except GOD and HIS Commandments.

Nevertheless, as a school principal, I frequently ask staff and students to abide by rules with which they do not necessarily agree. For me to do otherwise would be inconsistent at best, and at worst, hypocritical

I suffer from that affliction enough unintentionally. I certainly do not need to add an intentional transgression.

For this reason, I shall “Render unto Caesar that which is Caesar’s,” and refrain from praying at this time.

“However, if you feel inspired to honor, praise and thank GOD and ask HIM, in the name of JESUS, to Bless this event, please feel free to do so. As far as I know, that’s not against the law—-yet.”

One by one, the people in the stands bowed their heads, held hands with one another and began to pray.

They prayed in the stands. They prayed in the team huddles. They prayed at the concession stand and they prayed in the Announcer’s Box!

The only place they didn’t pray was in the Supreme Court of the United States of America – the Seat of “Justice” in the “one nation, under GOD.”

Somehow, Kingston, Tennessee remembered what so many have forgotten. We are given the Freedom OF Religion, not the Freedom FROM Religion. Praise GOD that HIS remnant remains!

JESUS said, “If you are ashamed of ME before men, then I will be ashamed of you before MY FATHER.”


11 thoughts on “Jody McLoud and his football speech…

  1. Dear Principal Mc Leod,
    Thank you for your outstanding speech. You followed the law yet did not succumb to denying your Lord. You acted with wisdom and the result was God was honored and His Son’s Name uplifted.
    Thanks for being a strong example for us in proclaiming our faith in the midst of a hostile system.
    God bless you and Roane County High School.

    Jim Dowling

  2. Hats off to Ms. McLoud,
    Applaud! Applaud! Applaud! She spoke the truth and I agree with her . She’s one gutsy lady. I don’t really care if I offend anyone. They offend me all the time and I’m still standing. If, they don’t want to hear it, put ear plugs in. If they don’t like it, go home. This country was founded on christianity. I’m tired of being politically correct. I would rather be biblically correct. By the way, let’s put prayer back in our public schools and the pledge of alligence.
    Cheryl Wilson, Tampa, FL

  3. I was amazed at the response I have heard from feedback on this article. This was said by what I believe many of us would like to say but never do. We have the fear factor and so we say nothing. It is time that ALL Christians stand up for what is right. In scripture, God says, in
    ll Chronicles 7:14 that “If my people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and heal their land.” We as Christians need to stand in prayer for our country, our land, and those in authority who are taking out prayer in schools and wanting to take In God We Trust off of the money we use in our daily lives. It is up to us to start to pray that many of the things as stated in the letter from the High School in Kingston Tennessee will be reversed. Sin abounds in this world we call home. I feel sorry for the up coming generation for by the time out children’s children’s children’s are here (unless Christ returns) it may even be against the law to gather for church services, pray anywhere or even own a Bible. Stand up and begin to pray for all of us.

  4. Inspirational. I agree with this principal, it is everyone’s right to pray, I don’t recall ever being “forced against my will” to pray in school. Along with saying the pledge of allegiance. It was an honor to be able to freely do that in our classroom and inspirational before games. This will probably be one of our nations best schools as a result of having a principal who stands for their beliefs.

  5. While talking to a young gal [24 yrs old] she stated she attended in 2000-2004 Jefferson County, TN High School. While attending there, a Muslim classmate also attended. He was permitted to leave his class for his prayers. If the weather was nice he went outside into the courtyard, if the weather was bad then he did his prayers in the hallway. The school allowed it [don't know what the school-board position was on this subject]. All of the students protested that Christians where not allowed prayer, but their activism fell on deaf ears.
    It appears the Muslims do what they feel they’re entitled to and screw America’s and the federal, state, county and city governments are saying OK, your in AMERICA!
    I’ll never be against praying, but when is it going to be equal????

  6. God reigns, God rules, always and forever. (We the People, One Nation under GOD — I could never be ashamed of my Father!) Thid nation had no right to take the Bible or prayer out of anywhere. Stand by the Word of Truth. GOD is the law.

Leave a Reply

